Mustard-Rosemary Rack of Lamb

mustard herb rub rack of lamb

Once upon a time, I was a vegetarian (see above photo: oh, how far we’ve come). Though I didn’t miss the meat as much as you might expect, I had occasional (stabbing, ravenous) guilty-pleasure cravings. Every vegetarian misses bacon, but I carried serious lust in my heart for (arugula? Tempeh? Blenheim apricots?) crispy Buffalo-style chicken wings, drenched in Frank’s spicy hot sauce and dunked in blue cheese dressing. Oh, yes. (I make my own wings a few times a year for whatever Big Game is on. Add cold mugs of beer and celery sticks, and grateful sports fans will lob marriage proposals at you.)

Aside from the bacon and frat boy fare, I missed my mother’s rack of lamb. I missed it terribly. The fine-grained meat, rosy and pink. Those dainty little rib bones and the robust, grainy herb crust. I thought about it every time I wanted to host a special dinner, how a roasted rack looks so elegant, so ta-daa on a table set for Easter or a small dinner party. How each bite holds the tang of mustard, the distinctive flavor of lamb and a creamy bit of fat in perfect balance.  But then, when I eventually added meat into my cooking rotation, I never attempted to make it myself. Seemed complicated. Restaurant-tricky.

The reality? It’s incredibly straightforward and simple. Not tricky at all! We can have a gorgeous rack of lamb for dinner whenever we want! The only thing you’ll need (besides an oven and money to purchase said rack of lamb) is a meat thermometer, and this chart:

Lamb Cooking TimesAs for that delicious crust, my mother’s secret turned out to be half a jar of grainy Dijon mustard (she and I both like the Maille brand). That’s it. I threw in some rosemary and minced shallots for good measure, which you can adjust or leave out as you like.

medium rare lamb chopsRoasted Rack of Lamb
adapted from the Complete Meat Cookbook by Bruce Aidells and Denis Kelly, 1998

  • 7-8 rib rack of lamb, about 1-1/4 lb, Frenched and trimmed
  • salt and pepper
  • 1-2 Tbsp olive oil

Season lamb with salt and pepper and bring to room temperature, about an hour. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Prepare mustard-herb rub (recipe follows). In a medium skillet, heat the oil until shimmery-hot over medium-high heat. Sear the rack, fat side down, until browned, about 2 minutes. With tongs, hold the rack upright to sear the top and then the sides of the rack. Let the meat rest for 2 minutes while you spread the mustard-rosemary mixture on the fat side of the rack.

Transfer to a foil-lined sheet pan (or if your skillet’s oven-proof, wipe down with a paper towel) and roast in the oven for about 20-25 minutes (assuming you’re aiming for medium rare). Remove the roast when its internal temperature (stick the thermometer into the meatiest part of the lamb, avoiding the bones, from the sides and the middle and take an average) is about 5 degrees cooler than your desired final temperature; the temp will continue to rise 5-10 degrees, referred to as “carryover cooking”. Let the meat rest, loosely covered with foil, for 5-7 minutes before carving between the ribs and serving. Serves 2-3 chops per person.

Mustard Herb Rub for Lamb
makes enough for one rack

  • 1 Tbsp fresh rosemary, minced
  • 2 Tbsp shallots, minced
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 C whole-grain Dijon mustard (such as Maille)

Mix ingredients together in a small bowl.

About scarpettakate

Scarpetta Dolcetto celebrates simple, seasonal, scratch home cookery.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mustard-Rosemary Rack of Lamb

  1. A classic, just beautiful. On another note, I’ve lived in parts of the country where wings are dipped in ranch dressing, not blue cheese. Can you imagine? That almost made me want to become a vegetarian.

  2. Père says:

    Ah, yes rack of lamb! I’ve come a long way since those days when your mother had to marinate lamb chops all day to get the “gaminess” out of the meat. Now, my favorite meat. Alas, we are going to Easter dinner where the lamb never shines, so I’m guessing ham tomorrow.

  3. My son was a proclaimed vegetarian for a while until I made a rack of lamb: then he forgot his vows instantly and devoured every last morsel! Your lamb looks so enticing, I think I am going to make some like this!

  4. Tiffany says:

    That is one gorgeous rack! I’ve never tried anything that fancy, but I will save this for when I do, thank you for sharing!

  5. Pam says:

    Heavens, this looks divine! What a presentation!

  6. This looks absolutely delicious! Perfect for Easter dinner, or anytime.

  7. Pingback: Parmesan-Rosemary Popovers | scarpetta dolcetto

  8. Pingback: Grilled Leg of Lamb | scarpetta dolcetto

Leave a comment