Chewy Oatmeal Cookies

In the cookie taxonomy (sandy, chewy, cakey, nutty, etc.), these little tasties are unusually classified, simultaneously in the thin and chewy categories. And where you might expect raisins, a classic touch, there’s sweet-tart dried cherries and rich bits of chocolate. (My grandmother used to bake a thin/crisp/oatmeal/chocolate chip cookie, and these bring me back.) And it works, like the most decadent granola ever but in hand-held cookie form.

If you’re the sort of baker who finds it excruciatingly difficult not to shove straight-out-of-the-oven cookies into your face as soon as the timer goes off, I understand the urge (you have no idea), but try for patience. With a little time and cooling to set the texture and flavors, these cookies go from good to great in just a few minutes. Though with butter and brown sugar wafting through your kitchen, if you can’t wait that long, nobody’ll blame you. Least of all me.

Chewy Oatmeal Cookies with Cherries & Chocolate Chips
adapted from Emily Luchetti’s Fearless Baker, 2011; makes about 30 cookies

  • 12 Tbsp (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 C light brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 C granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 C old-fashioned oats (not quick-cooking or steel-cut)
  • 1 C all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 2 Tbsp whole milk
  • 1/2 C dried cherries
  • generous 1/2 C chocolate chips

In a stand mixer, cream the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. Add the egg and vanilla and mix to combine, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed. In a medium bowl, mix the flour, oats, salt and baking soda. Add to the mixing bowl and combine. Add the cherries and chocolate chips.

Refrigerate the dough for at least half an hour or until cool to the touch. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line your baking sheets with parchment; set aside. Shape dough into generous tablespoon-sized rounds and flatten slightly. Place 2″ apart on your baking sheet and bake about 10-12 minutes until they’re well browned and the  centers are set.

About scarpettakate

Scarpetta Dolcetto celebrates simple, seasonal, scratch home cookery.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Chewy Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Ruth says:

    They look luscious and soft oatmeal raison are my absolute favorite cookie. My mother is coming today for the weekend so okay, I will diligently try to not shove any cookies into my maw straight from the oven. :-}

  2. tasteofbeirut says:

    I can tell this is an excellent recipe! Will use it next time.

  3. Casey says:

    These look so delicious, I LOVE oatmeal cookies-there’s never any guilt!! 😀

  4. Vicki @ WITK says:

    Mmm, I love a chewy oatmeal cookie. I’ll have to make myself a big plate of these!

  5. Matt says:

    My new favorite cookie. Seriously. Well done, SD!

  6. My favorite thing about Oatmeal cookies are they are chewy! Can’t go wrong with a great cookie!

  7. Thin AND chewy? Just the way I like them!

  8. These cookies look so chewy and delicious! Yum!

  9. Brian says:

    You know what my favorite cookies are? Oatmeal. You made our day sending those out to Texas. Thank you so so much for the treat!

Leave a comment