Caleb’s Margarita

My friend Caleb hails from San Antonio, Texas, and as such he lightly salts his speech with “y’alls” and knows his way around that city’s storied breakfast tacos. Caleb’s a man of varied talents and quirks, many of them nurtured by the Lone Star State, but it’s my belief that his true Texan powers are with tequila. He’s a Spurs-loving mystic, a conjurer of Cointreau and lime wedges, maker of the best margarita I’ve ever had, anywhere.

Caleb’s margarita has little in common with frothy blender concoctions made with packaged sweet-sour mix, relying instead on fresh lime juice and a kiss of agave syrup. (You could use superfine sugar instead, in the same amount or to taste.) His is elegantly smooth and sweet-tart with just a hint of tequila’s husky fire, a good mood in a glass. And I’m just going to say this once: Caleb’s margarita goes down super-easy, y’all, but it is a sipper. (Trust me on that one.)

Caleb’s Margarita
serves one

  • 3 oz good tequila (Herradura, preferably)
  • 1 oz Cointreau
  • 1 oz fresh lime juice (or more to taste)
  • 1/2 teaspoon light agave syrup

In a cocktail shaker, add a handful of ice and all the ingredients. Shake until chilled and strain into a lowball glass. (No salt for me, please, but you can use a salt-rimmed glass if you like. Run a lime wedge around the rim and dip the glass into a saucer of flaky sea salt.) Garnish with a lime wedge.

About scarpettakate

Scarpetta Dolcetto celebrates simple, seasonal, scratch home cookery.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Caleb’s Margarita

  1. omeletta says:

    It’s been so muggy lately– this is the perfect antidote!

  2. joshuafagans says:

    I have always wondered if anybody ever makes anything I post on my blog. In case you are the same let me assure you that I am sipping one of these as I type. I am always wanting to try different Margarita recipes and have to say Caleb’s got a nice ratio. Thanks for the post.

  3. oooooooooooo I love margharitas! They’re my summer goto drink

  4. Pingback: Guacamole | scarpetta dolcetto

Leave a Reply

