Peanut Butter Sandwich

omnivore books on foodSometimes things just go all wonky and wrong in the kitchen. It happens. I made a chocolate budino the other night, a kind of rich pudding that should have been gorgeously creamy and silky but decided to set up like a sad, gritty rock instead. (An utter waste of good chocolate. The agony!) I stared at a blank grocery list for over a week and couldn’t think of anything I’d want to make for dinner, despite the fact that: a) the summer produce is practically tap-dancing in the market, b) I write this little food blog and think about dinner all the time and c) I happen to work in a cookbook shop, for crying out loud, with thousands of recipes at my disposal.  Because sometimes, when your husband’s out of town for work and you’re working late yourself, the only thing you feel like fixing is a peanut butter sandwich.

And you know what? Peanut butter sandwiches are really good. I won’t share the recipe, because I’m pretty sure you’ve got that one down (I go for extra-crunchy on rye, for what it’s worth) but I will share the reminder to cut ourselves some slack, in the kitchen and elsewhere. Life can go a little pear-shaped at times; as hard as you try, no matter how good your intentions, you’ll still occasionally fall flat. Just clean up the kitchen, take a few deep breaths and make a peanut butter sandwich. Better already.

About scarpettakate

Scarpetta Dolcetto celebrates simple, seasonal, scratch home cookery.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Peanut Butter Sandwich

  1. I think a peanut butter sandwich is the best fallback when you are short on time-had it for lunch yesterday. Glad to know I am not the only one that retreats to this at times. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Michelle says:

    I love this post. I did the same thing the other night. And it was DELISH

  3. Christine Lee says:

    Love your post Kate! Brought a great smile to my face, which I needed since I am sitting in airport 4.5 hours before my flight!

  4. Love it – nothing wrong with cereal or plain old scrambled eggs either!

  5. sanjapanja says:

    I would love to work in a cookbook shop!

  6. Aww, I hope life has gotten better! Don’t feel too bad about the budino; it happens. I love PB&J’s, too!!!

  7. Cute post…I can relate to the agony of a flopped recipe…and also to the lack of inspiration for dinner! Glad I’m not alone 🙂

  8. I also like a fried egg sandwich, under those circumstances. What a sad waste of chocolate!

  9. Every now and then I yearn for a bologna and american cheese sandwich on white bread.

    (Cannot let hubby read that!)

Leave a Reply

