Colcannon

st. patrick's day side dish

My grandfather, the child of Irish immigrants, wasn’t a big fan of Saint Patrick’s Day. I’m not sure if that came from a desire to assimilate, common as that is among first generation Americans, or a disdain for the green-beer-and-leprechauns silliness that can trivialize the Irish legacy, or what it was. As a result, though, we didn’t make much of a fuss of it at my house, either. We might have had corned beef for dinner and called it a day.

Me? I am into it. I have Kelly green underpants. I bake loaves upon loaves of brown bread. I have three stock Gaelic phrases that I use to exhaustion and a three-hour iTunes playlist called “Kiss My Shillelagh”. And every year, I make colcannon.

I visited the old sod two years ago, and I remember feeling thunder-struck by nostalgia, a bit odd considering I’d never been to Ireland before. (Unless you count the Irish Embassy in DC. At 18, I attended a party with my parents and toasted my first legal-on-a-technicality alcoholic beverage. It was a Guinness, and I didn’t like it. Ah, youth.) I suppose it was a feeling of continuity, of coming back to something familiar, in the literal sense. That and about every other person on the street looked like somebody to whom I’m related. Irish genes are strong.

Cooking, of course, creates another visceral (and better yet, edible) tether between the past and present. A traditional plate of braised lamb, and a batch of garlicky, creamy, kale-studded colcannon seems an apt way to celebrate my (mostly) Irish heritage. Add a snifter of Powers whiskey, put on the Pogues and we’ve got ourselves some real craic. Two snifters and I’m planning to stage reenactments of the 1916 Easter Rising in the living room and charge the audience a 5-lb bag of potatoes each. Just think of all the colcannon we could make.

Colcannon
serves four to six

  • 2 1/2 lb Yukon Gold potatoes
  • 8 oz lacinto or curly kale, center ribs removed and chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 C half-and-half
  • 3 Tbsp butter
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • 3/4 tsp kosher salt, plus more to taste
  • 1/2 C chicken or vegetable stock

Peel and quarter the potatoes and place in a large pot with enough generously salted water to cover. Bring to a simmer and cook until a paring knife can pierce the flesh with no resistance (but not so mushy they’re falling apart), about 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a medium saucepan, heat the butter, half-and-half, nutmeg and garlic; simmer about 4 minutes (take care not to scorch it). Drain and mash the potatoes (or use a ricer or hand-held mixer, if desired) and add the warm dairy mixture and salt. Rinse out and wipe down the medium saucepan. Heat the stock to a simmer; add the kale and heat to wilt, stirring, about five minutes. Fold the kale into the potato mixture, adjust the salt to your liking and serve.

Note: to keep the colcannon warm or to reheat, place in a heat-proof bowl over a saucepan with simmering water, stirring occasionally. You may want to add a bit more stock or half-and-half just before serving.

About scarpettakate

Scarpetta Dolcetto celebrates simple, seasonal, scratch home cookery.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Colcannon

  1. Christine Lee says:

    That looks really good Kate! I have decided that this year is the year of the potato – with my new ricer, mashed potatoes have never been so creamy and delicious. Thanks for the new recipe!

  2. Jeannie McCluskey says:

    Truly inspirational – p.s. did you like the scarf?

  3. Will Kinzel says:

    Hey! No comment about why you were last in Ireland???

    • You got me!! Only edited for space, my dear. But if you must know, I was traveling to Cork to celebrate the nuptials of two lovely people. Wonder who that could be? xo

  4. I have never made Colcannon before, but I do love it, and I have been meaning to make something with Kale so this is something perfect to try out. Looks so good!

  5. “To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” -Oscar Wilde

  6. Well, you cant get more Irish than that. I love your website.

  7. Evan @swEEts says:

    I’ve never heard of this, but then again, I’m not Irish! ha I’ll have to ask some friends about it though because it sounds delicious 🙂

  8. Love your story and the Colcannon looks amazing! So interesting that this is a Halloween dish. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Pingback: Irish Soda Bread | scarpetta dolcetto

  10. Judy Rower says:

    Looks amazing!! Cannot wait to try it!!
    Love your Irish spirit and pride.
    Thanks for all the great stories and recipes.

Leave a Reply

