Peanut Butter Dog Treats

pound puppyAnyone out there in need of a pick-me-up? Not enough cute in your day so far? Allow me to introduce Tiggy: ten pounds of wriggly wags and kisses, a sweet and joyful pit bull terrier/mystery mix we adopted from a county shelter up in wine country. I can’t tell you how many little pools of piddle I’ve cleaned up this week, but I can tell you that nothing beats the warm squish of a snoozing 8-week old puppy in your lap.

Between crate-training, gnawing on chew toys, meeting new friends, exploring her new home and learning good manners, Tiggy’s been a very busy little baby. And as most hard-working human folks know, it’s important to take time to rest and recharge and celebrate your accomplishments. A cold bowl of water and a handful of kibble make for a dependable refreshment, but for special occasions (learning to sit on cue!) why not go all out with easy homemade biscuits?

New Lady Who Feeds Me can’t personally account for the taste (mmm, sardine-scented wafers, delicious), but judging from pretty little Tiggy’s lip-smacking reaction, I think it’s safe to assume these crunchy treats will be a big hit with your four-legged friends as well.

Welcome to the world and to our family, little mutt! We love you to the moon and back already. Woof!

Peanut Butter Dog Treats
makes about 3 dozen small biscuits

  • 1 C whole wheat flour
  • 2 Tbsp flaxseed meal
  • 2 Tbsp oats
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp fish oil or olive oil
  • 1/4 C peanut butter
  • 1/4 C beef or chicken broth

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, whisk the egg, fish oil, broth and peanut butter together. Stir in the flour, flaxseed meal and oats. Mix, by hand if that’s easier, until combined into a smooth dough.

Dust your work surface and rolling pin with a bit of flour. Roll out the biscuit dough (to about 1/4″ thick) and with a cookie cutter cut into a dog bone shape or small rounds. Re-roll any scraps. Bake, 10-12 minutes, and let cool completely. Store in an air-tight container for up to three weeks.

Note: While you can buy liquid fish oil in most health food stores, I just pierced a few of my dietary supplement gelcaps (discarding the gelatin casing) to get the fish oil for this recipe.

homemade dog biscuits

About scarpettakate

Scarpetta Dolcetto celebrates simple, seasonal, scratch home cookery.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Peanut Butter Dog Treats

  1. Ruth says:

    We have a 9 uear old rottie/chow mix and a 2 year old italian greyhound rescue that are going to looooooove you! 😀 Good luck with Tiggy. There’s nothing better than a warm puppy. 🙂

  2. Jeannie McCluskey says:

    Congratulations to the new pawrents! Lucky to get such a young’en. I’m jealous but I don’t think Addi and Fiona would like sharing. Best of luck with the training period – more time in now the better later! Piddle pads are a must and maybe bitter apple spray for your table legs.

    • Thanks, Jeannie! So far Tiggy’s doing so great with her training…Matt taught her how to lay down before I got out of bed this morning! She’s doing a lot of work at home and starts her puppy manners class in a few weeks. And I just bought an extra-large bottle of bitter apple. 🙂

  3. Scott Enderby says:

    Congratulations Kate and Matt!!!!! And welcome Tiggy!!!! When can we have a play date???? He is adorable and I’m sure adding a whole new dimension to happiness in your home (despite the piddle!!!)

  4. Jeannie McCluskey says:

    The ingredients are healthy enough for Legal Secretary treats! Seriously.

  5. kaci says:

    AHHH! So cute! Can’t wait to try these treats for my lil four-legged lovelies. Also, terrier mix? Get READY. My terrier mix is a big ball of wiggley, crazy tasmanian devil. So cute, so fun, and so devilish 🙂

  6. Judy Rower says:

    Such a precious puppy. You are so blessed!! Just a perfect little face.
    I tried the chickpeas and they were delicious. Thanks for sharing that tasty and nutritious snack. Actually, even the dog treats sound yummy.

  7. James says:

    One word……Adorable! ( and I’m sure the treats aren’t bad either )….Welcome Tiggy!

  8. What an adorable puppy! I love your recipe and can’t wait to try it out on my little doggie. Thank you!

  9. Liz says:

    Aw, I LOVE Tiggy!!!! So cute! My Lambeau has allergies, so I can’t make her any treats…she gets carrots, apples, and sweet potatoes for her snacks 🙂

  10. thanks for the nice notes, all! judy, so glad you enjoyed the chickpeas.

  11. First, I ‘d like to say, I love your blog! Thanks for sharing your life and your recipes. We have an online TV network at http://www.smibs.tv and are looking into doing a show or two on cooking – I don’t know if you’d be potentially interested in participating from time to time as a guest (via skype) but keep it in mind and drop me an Email if the idea intrigues you at all.

    Also, I thought I’d make a suggestion for your doggie recipe. I’ve made it a goal to have dogs who don’t have smelly ‘fluffs’ (as my Grandmother calls them). Undigestables include wheat, soy and corn – since your recipe includes wheat, I would suggest substituting wheat for rye flour, or potato or rice. Very cute pup, by the way – he looks so sweet and innocent.

    Christy

Leave a Reply

