Toasted Chickpeas

roasted spiced chickpeasI’ve already professed my undying love for favas and cannellini beans, and I don’t think I’ve ever met a hummus I didn’t like. But plain old garbanzos? They’re okay, I guess. A bit chalky and mushy to my taste, and certainly not high up on the list.

But roasted in the oven until crispy-crunchy, with spices and salt and a little heat? Oh, baby. Those chickpeas are for people who take their snacking seriously. A roast in the oven turns the humble garbanzo into a nutty, toasty, shatteringly crunchy, wickedly addictive treat. Thankfully they’re good for you, too, with all that fiber and protein and iron and folate.

And that’s pretty hard to say about your typical half-time snack, no? Because if there isn’t seven layer dip and a bag of cheez puffs, if you aren’t ingesting some heavy preservatives and high-fructose corn syrup on Super Bowl Sunday, you’re really not doing it properly. In a side-by-side comparison, though, I think you’ll find these roasted chickpeas get snatched up just as quickly as the processed snacky foods, so why not? Sneak them in and see what happens.

So garbanzos, chickpeas, ceci beans: whatever it is you call yourself, I take it all back. You, friends, are absolutely a-okay with me.

Spicy Toasted Chickpeas

  • two 11 oz. jars of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 3 Tbsp olive oil (or a neutral oil such as grapeseed or corn)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, or more to taste
  • 1 tsp celery seed

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a rimmed baking sheet with aluminum foil. In a small bowl, mix all the ingredients. Spread out in a single layer on the prepared baking sheet. Bake until the chickpeas are well browned and crisp, stirring occasionally, about 30 minutes (I used the smaller Italian variety of chickpeas; yours may take slightly longer). Let cool slightly, check the seasonings and adjust to your taste.

Variation: you can substitute whatever dried herbs or spice blends you like; the chickpeas are neutral enough in flavor that they’ll take to just about anything well.

About scarpettakate

Scarpetta Dolcetto celebrates simple, seasonal, scratch home cookery.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Toasted Chickpeas

  1. Mateja says:

    In our family we all love chickpeas and yours looks delicious! Thank you for sharing ^_^

  2. Rebekah says:

    I love toasted chickpeas! Great idea to put them out as a Superbowl snack, I think I will do that.

  3. Ang says:

    I have a friend who makes a similar recipe but have never tried them. I do love garbanzo beans so I’m sure I would love these. These would be a perfect afternoon snack.

  4. Judy says:

    I keep reading about toasting chickpeas and I really must try this. A healthy addictive snack is hard to find.

  5. foodelf says:

    Is there any real difference between tins and jars of chickpeas? This sounds very intriguing!

    • Not very much! It may just be the brands I’ve tried, but chickpeas packaged in metal cans seem to have a slight off-taste, in my opinion. I like to stock up on the ones sold in glass jars. Enjoy!

  6. Tiffany says:

    Great idea, I think I will try these today, thanks for sharing!

  7. Thanks for the notes, all! Enjoy!

  8. I love toasted chickpeas! I love how yours are spicy too… yum!

  9. Trish says:

    I eat a ton of beans and have honestly never thought about toasting them, plain with just some oil and spices. What a great idea. Thanks šŸ™‚

  10. Cazuela says:

    If you have a pressure cooker, you can have better-than-canned or jarred chickpeas in mere minutes! Probably a good idea to soak them overnight, but still. This toasted chickpea recipe sounds delicious, and so versatile. Thank you.

  11. I just befriended you on Foodbuzz – seems like we both live in the Bay Area and both love to make healthy food. Btw, LOOOOVE roasted chickpeas and I make them myself. http://cuceesprouts.com/2010/07/mission-statement/

Leave a Reply

